Hayden Pass (revisited)

Back in June of 2018, I took the one-year old AT out to ride up to Hayden Pass which is about 35 miles west of Canon City. Couldn’t get the 500+ pound AT through a section and ended up turning around. That post is here.

So today is the day I take KLiX to see Hayden Pass.

After a nice ride across US-50 to the Hayden Creek turn, I’m on gravel road and looking at a mountain that I will soon be on top.

About a ten miles to the top.

And before I get to the Forest Service Road 6, I can see burn areas from the 2016 fire.

Burn scar from 2016.

After passing a resort and some private camping property, I arrive at the Hayden Creek Campground which is run by the U.S. Forest Service.

The “iron ranger” at Hayden Creek Campground.

KLiX is parked in the shade while I take some pictures.

KLiX.

After taking couple of pictures, I need to turn around and take the trail on the right.

Five miles to Hayden Pass. How hard can it be?

This marker gives an idea of the difficulty.

“Stay the Trail!”

One-wheel drive motorcycles are ok.

Now for some pictures taken during the climb to the pass. I was the only one up there today. 😁

And just like that, KLiX tractor’d up the trail to the pass! 💪

The picture is the prize! 🏆

There’s a trailhead here too.

After contemplating where to go next and a snack, I backtrack the way I came up as I want to stop in Cotopaxi for fuel and a cheeseburger.

Here are some pictures taken on the descent. Now the sun is behind me and the lighting is better. Plus, it’s a different view!

Plenty of burned trees up here.
The burned trees are crumbling now.

Looking towards the Arkansas River Valley and US-50.
Now almost at the bottom and the Hayden Campground.

Refuel and cheeseburger time!

Cotopaxi Store.

About a mile or two east of here, I saw an interesting road that appeared to have a BLM sign. I’ll go check it out now.

Open the gate, roll KliX through, and then close the gate.

It’s dry and it’s getting hot in the sun. The two-track trail has me thinking of rattlesnakes and steer skulls!

South Fern Leaf Gulch Road.

No prior planning, I don’t know where this is going, and I have half a bottle of water.

Sand and rocks.

As expected, KLiX does well in the sand. The wide tires help float the bike and rider.

After about three songs, I stop and turn around. On the way back, I stop at a pile of tin cans. There are a lot and probably have been here for decades as some have the old pull tops. Maybe dumped here prior to recycling?

Near the gate, I ride under US-50 and stop for a picture.

Culvert for rain run-off and large enough for a flash flood.

From here, it was about 20 miles back to Canon City. About 85 miles for the day.

Thanks for checking out the pictures! 😁

Author: rider marc

Been riding since I was 13. Bought my first new motorcycle when I was 15. Kawasaki, Yamaha, and Husqvarna tech prior to an Army Aviation career that culminated as a CH-47D Chinook helicopter maintenance manager and test pilot. Adventure touring around the United States on two wheels. Current rides are the Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin and a Kawasaki KLX300SM.

2 thoughts on “Hayden Pass (revisited)”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started